Department of Computer Science

Department of Computer Science

About Department of Computer Science

DCS Members

Department of Computer Science Faculty Members

Department of Computer Science Establishment

The Department of Computer Science (DCS) was established in 2004, in the Kulliyyah of Information and Communication Technology (KICT). The first programme offered was the Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours) programme. This was followed by the postgraduate programmes in 2011, namely Master of Computer Science (MCS) and Ph.D. in Computer Science (Ph.D. CS).

The department offers the excitement of studying computer science, a field that studies the computers which has become an integral part of our daily life. The programme is tailored to produce competent key players in the industry. The courses in the programmes will reflect the latest development in Information and Communication Technology (ICT) area such as Software Engineering and Network and Security, and also the forefront fields: 

  • Data Science, 
  • Big Data Analytics, 
  • Machine Learning, and 
  • Digital Forensics. 

Office Address

Department of Computer Science,
Block B, Level 4,
Kulliyyah of ICT,
International Islamic University Malaysia,
53100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Phone: +603-6421 5651

Head of Department

Asst. Prof. Dr. Amir 'Aatieff Bin Amir Hussin


Message from The Head of Department

Although the origins of mathematical thinking and computers may be traced back to Al-Khwrizm (Algoritmi) centuries ago, computer science as instruments to aid our own thinking is a relatively young field of study. Alan Turing established the mathematical foundations for computing with his concept of Turing Machines. Turing’s work includes theoretical as well as practical applications such as cryptanalysis. In the realm of artificial intelligence, he was also considered a pioneer. Similarly, another well-known pioneer in the field of computer science is John von Neumann, whose design is the forefather of today's computer chips, which are at the heart of our modern-day computers. Women have made also major contributions to the field of computers and algorithmic machines, alongside great men, with Ada Lovelace and Grace Hopper being among the most well-known.

Welcome to the Department of Computer Science's undergraduate and graduate programmes. Our qualified staff's experience, together with state-of-the-art facilities, will aid you in your search for knowledge. As a computer scientist, we pledge to help you achieve your goals, become problem solvers, and form communities. The expertise you obtain will aid in the development of social network infrastructures, as well as solutions to protect our personal data, secure data exchange across a variety of communication networks, and data visualisation solutions. You'll also work on tools that help people make better decisions by asking smarter questions and incorporating more data into crucial decisions. Anas ibn Malik reported: The Messenger of Allah, peace and blessings be upon him, said, "Seeking knowledge is a responsibility for every Muslim". Here at the department, we are all about seeking knowledge. insha’Allah.


Asst. Prof. Dr. Hafizah Mansor
Postgraduate Coordinator

Asst. Prof. Dr. Akeem Olowolayemo
Academic Advisor

Asst. Prof. Dr. Nurul Liyana Binti Mohamad Zulkufli
Industrial Attachment Coordinator

Asst. Prof. Dr. Rawad Abdulkhaleq Abdulmolla Abdulghafor
Final Year Project Coordinator

Administrative Assistant

Junaida Zainuddin
03 - 6196 5651

Undergraduate Programme

Programme Offered

The Department offers Bachelor of Computer Science with three options of specialization:

  • Software Engineering
  • Network and Security
  • Data Science and Computational Intelligence

Programme Structure: General

Study Plan

Study plans for Bachelor of Computer Science are as follows:

  1. Study plan for matric number 151XXX
  2. Study plan for matric number 171XXX onwards
  3. Study plan for matric number 201XXX onwards
  4. Study plan for BCS batch 201 onwards

Promotional Poster

Postgraduate Programmes

The Department also offers master and doctoral programmes in Computer Science. The postgraduate programmes offered by Department of Computer Science are as follows: